To plan or not to plan….that is the question

9 thoughts on “To plan or not to plan….that is the question”

  1. Excellent blog post that covers many of the “unexpected” sides of RVing. Thanks also for the plug!
    Nina

  2. I enjoyed reading your blog post. Bob and I have had the same frustrations about not having made a reservation in high use areas. I would like to add a note about your experience at Mt. Rainier. As you have discovered and shared for others who may follow in your footsteps, the National Park campgrounds were not designed for and most will not accommodate “Big Rigs”. Thank you for sharing that info. As far as your comment about Mt. Rainier not being overly impressive, I would like to emphasize that “beauty is in the eye of the beholder”. In my humble opinion Mt. Rainier is the most beautiful, amazing, and impressive National Park in the system. We were lucky to find a campsite at Cougar Rock CG where our 35′ MH fit with a little bit of extra effort. It is unfortunate that you were not able to find a suitable campsite that would allow you to experience all this beautiful park has to offer. Again, thanks for the post.

  3. We did stay at Cougar Rock the first night, it was the second night that we couldn’t find a spot. I don’t mean to say that Mt Rainer wasn’t pretty, because it was. I just felt that we enjoyed Yellowstone and Grand Tetons more. Also, I think by that point I was ready to leave the mountains and head to the beach. The other factor for us was that we currently don’t have a tow vehicle, so we had to drive around the park in our MH. And those roads are very twisty and curvy! If we had more time, and if we had a car, our experience probably would have been different. Thanks for following along and for the comment!

  4. Uggh I can’t even imagine going through Mt. Rainer National Park in a motorhome. I thought I was going to die when we went there years ago in our van with my poor Mother in Law who closed her eyes the whole time. I haven’t been to Mt. Rainer since. I guess I am overdue for a visit now.

  5. Yes, driving through Rainer in a motorhome is far from ideal! On the second day we started driving up to Sunrise, and halfway there I made Deas turn around. I simply couldn’t take being jostled around on the bumpy roads and all of the twists and turns we were having to endure. If we ever go back we’ll definitely need to have a car with us!

  6. Hello from your neighbors down the hill at Emigrant Lake. Re: to plan or not to plan. We tend to try to stay in a park for a week or more in high demand locations so making reservations is imperative, especially during the summer. For example, I tried to make late September reservations for the North Rim of the Grand Canyon five months in advance and couldn’t get a site. Another example, I called for reservation at 3 parks near Anacortes, WA about two months in advance – no dice. On the other hand, over planning can be so limiting. Hope you continue to have wonderful travel experiences.

  7. I’m planning a roadtrip in the US in May and was planning to just wing it every night. But after reading about the most popular places being fully booked already, I decided it wasn’t the best idea.

    I guess if you don’t have any specific places you want to stay at, then it would be alright. But since we have lots of plans on where to go on our limited time, it’s just not worth not knowing if we’ll be able to stay where we want each night.

    1. I think you’re right. It sounds fun and adventurous to just wing it, and it can be….but it can also be stressful. Doing all the planning/making reservations in the beginning will take a lot of stress out of the trip, especially if this is your first big trip. I hope you have a great time!

      1. Yeah, it does and it usually is! But maybe not in the high season. It’s my first trip to the US and in a campervan. I’ve done roadtrips before but never in a campervan so that will be a first. I’ve been on a booking-spree now and have most of the campgrounds booked. I figure that if we end up not making it to a campground, it’s not the end of the world 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.